AutoSens Awards Winners crowned for 2018

file 1 e1537391369424
AutoSens Awards Winners 2018

At a dazzling awards ceremony held in one of the iconic spheres of the Atomium in Brussels on September 19th 2018, the industry’s most accomplished figures mixed with the new entrants looking to make a splash by winning an AutoSens Award. Professionals from across the international realm of automotive technology gathered at the Atomium to celebrate the brightest minds, best companies, smartest organisations and most influential projects.

file 2
Winning category trophies

Part of the international AutoSens vehicle perception conference and exhibition, the Awards, now in their second year, were judged by a world-class panel drawn from OEMs, Tier 1s and Tier 2s, industry organisations and academia to assure a robust process.

Winners and Silver Awards went to….

Most Engaging Content

  • First place: Junko Yoshida, EE Times
  • Silver award: Marco Jacobs, videantis
  • Silver award: Stephan Giesler, 2025AD

Hardware Innovation Sponsored by IMS

  • First place: Robert Bosch
  • Silver award: Renesas Electronics
  • Silver award: OmniVision Technologies

Software Innovation

  • First place: Algolux
  • Silver award: Brodmann17
  • Silver award: Prophesee

Most Exciting Start-Up Sponsored by Nextchip

  • First place: AEye Inc
  • Silver award: Metamoto
  • Silver award: Arbe Robotics

Game Changer Sponsored by Dibotics

  • First place: Marc Geese, Robert Bosch
  • Silver award: Intel Corporation
  • Silver award: NVIDIA & Continental Partnership

Greatest Exploration Sponsored by ANSYS OPTIS

  • First place: Prof Alexander Braun of the University of Applied Sciences Düsseldorf
  • Silver award: Ding Zhao of Carnegie Mellon University
  • Silver award: Prof Philip Koopman of Carnegie Mellon University

Best Outreach Project

  • First place: Udacity
  • Silver award: North West Advanced Programming Workshop Programme (NWAPW)
  • Silver award: Detroit Autonomous Vehicle Group

AutoSens Inspiration Award

  • Winner: North West Advanced Programming Workshop Programme (NWAPW)

file2Robert Stead, Managing Director of Sense Media Group, Director of the AutoSens Awards was delighted with the event: “Nominations almost doubled compared to last year’s event, so it was a difficult task to whittle down the shortlist, but we are very happy to have such an exciting winners list of industry trail-blazers including those at the forefront of development of vehicle perception systems. The AutoSens Awards do much more than simply recognise individual and corporate technical innovation, we also have categories covering academic achievement and educational programmes, an increasingly important aspect of this industry as we strive to inspire and equip the next generation of engineers.”

file3Shortlisted nominees for 2018 comprised of Mentor Graphics, Toyota Motor North America, CSRC, Rini Sherony, NXP Semiconductors, Cepton, Velodyne Lidar, Dibotics, Civil Maps, Dataspeed Inc, Immervision, Hailo, May Mobility, Ouster, Siddartha Khastgir, WMG, University of Warwick, Kalray, Prof. Nabeel Riza, University College Cork, Cranfield University Multi-User Environment for Autonomous Vehicle Innovation (MUEAVI), Professor Natasha Merat, Institute for Transport Studies, Dr Valentina Donzella, WMG University of Warwick, DIY Robocars and RobotLAB

Entries for 2019 are open!

NEW for 2019! We have updated our awards categories to align with the changing dynamics of the autonomous vehicle perception industry, in turn increasing the opportunities for more entrants to go home with a much coveted AutoSens Award.

[sc name=”Awards Categories”]
[sc name=”Enter Awards”]

Scroll to Top
2024 ADAS Guide

The state-of-play in today’s ADAS market

With exclusive editorials from Transport Canada and SAE;  the ADAS Guide is free resource for our community. It gives a detailed overview of features in today’s road-going vehicles, categorized by OEM, alongside expert analysis.